A Vested Interest - Book 1 of A Vested Interest series

Book 1 is free at:

  • Amazon
  • iTunes
  • B & N
  • Kobo
  • Sony
  • Smashwords

Get your copy here.

Dark Secrets - Book 2 of A Vested Interest series
No Secrets - Book 3 of A Vested Interest series
Stones, Stars and Solutions - Book 4 of A Vested Interest series
Leap of Faith - Book 5 of A Vested Interest series
Regret and Retribution - Book 6 of A Vested Interest series
Consequences - Book 7 of A Vested Interest series
Ashes to Ashes - Book 8 of A Vested Interest series
Raging Storm - Book 1 of Blood of the Rainbow - an A Vested Interest prequel series
Roses and Regret - Book 2 of Blood of the Rainbow prequel series
Choice and Change - Book 3 of Blood of the Rainbow prequel series
A Vested Interest - Book 1 of A Vested Interest series
Get the free e-book

Why not read A Vested Interest on the new Kindle Fire HDX?

...or if you want a larger screen (which has a higher resolution than the iPad 'retina' screen)


...to the website of a new book series by John and Shelia Chapman

What is 'A Vested Interest' about?

Would you be concerned if you were told that in the year 7141 a rogue planetoid would collide with Earth and destroy all life on it? Probably not. It is so far off in the future that it's one of those events which can be left to our descendants to solve. Your children will think the same... and their children... and their children... and so it will go on until the last generation find it's too late to do anything about it.

Enter the Triplets into the equation. What would happen if you suddenly found yourself essentially immortal? If that was the case it would be your problem. Would the impending apocalypse be a little more urgent?

A Vested Interest book 1 is FREE!This is the story behind the 'A Vested Interest' book series by John and Shelia Chapman. The free thriller ebook - book one in the series - details the moral struggles of three scientists who are developing a genetic treatment which, if successful, could greatly extend human lifespan.

Book 1 in the saga, 'A Vested Interest' is set mostly in the North of England and follows the relationship which develops between Donna Rigden, an American doctor, specializing in genetic engineering and Richard Triplet, a British biochemist. Together with Gary Browne, Donna's cousin, they develop a new gene therapy.

John and Shelia Chapman on StoryFindsUnderlying the story is 'The Order', a secret organization which manipulates governments to their own profit. A villain from 'The Order' attempts to seize control of the research for his own personal gains. Against him is Richard Triplet's father and grandmother, members of 'The Order', who wish to use the research for the salvation of humanity.

The villain attacks and kills the heroine, but can the 'cure' help? You'll have to read the books to find out how the result proves successful in changing the world.

Indie Author LandA Vested Interest, the first book in the series, is available as a paperback £9.47 UK or as a free thriller ebook worldwide. Free in the UK and and Free in the US at Amazon. It's also FREE at Smashwords in Kindle format as are the epub and other versions. You can also find it at iBooks, Barns & Noble and Sony. No Kindle? You can download a free app from Amazon to read it on your phone, tablet or computer. Read a sample online

US paperback - $16.99


Book 2, Dark Secrets, continues the story and a second protagonist is overcome. Lurking in the Triplet background though is a dark secret. What seemed a solid relationship is not quite what it seemed. Hero becomes villain. The secret turns things around destroying relationships and allowing others to flourish.


Book 3 'No Secrets' is where you'll find there's a lot more to the dark secret revealed in book 2. The Triplet family becomes even more complex as old flames are brought back and Sir Richard's nephew and niece are revealed. Nanotechnology is a principle theme and a protagonist switches sides.


Book 4, Stones, Stars and Solutions. After an ancient document in the Triplet family possession is decoded the family set off on a global treasure hunt following the clues provided. Made public the document would change the world. Nanotechnology, again plays a part. The prize is an alien ultimate power source which might just help save Earth's biosphere from a future apocalypse.

Stones, Stars and Solutions is a possible entry point into the series.

Leap of FaithBook 5 'Leap of Faith' is where Richard Triplet loses one love and maybe gains another... but he doesn't know it yet! You'll also find there are additions to the already complex Triplet family. Meet Rich, Donna and Richard's son, who hasn't been born yet but is ten years old. How could that happen?


Book 6 is 'Regret and Retribution'. Expect more technology, more turmoil in the family and old protagonists join forces against the Triplets. Sam messes up, but is it his fault? As if that wasn't enough it seems that some of the aliens are hostile and only the combined efforts of the family can prevent them from subjugating the world.

Book 7 is 'Consequences'. In it you'll find Sir Richard having trouble getting to grips with time travel, good and bad aliens, and humans with paranormal powers. He'd much rather deal with everyday murderous enemies, global warfare and secret organisations which control the world.

Book 8 is 'Ashes to Ashes' As it's title suggests you'll find death in it. Lots of death! A protagonist returns to the Mayan pyramid at Chichen Itza. What is he looking for and why is Comtesse D’Vincent so angry about him? The Triplet team follows, a life changing event for Sam.

Ashes to Ashes will be followed by a new book 'Dust to Dust' in 2014.

There's also a linked book series - not part of the series but closely related - Blood of the Rainbow - Raging Storm, written by Shelia Chapman. It tells the early story of Jared, who re-appears in Regret and Retribution but is mentioned in earlier books. It's a paranormal romance and explains a little of the series story. Shelia is writing two follow-ups to this which will appear in 2013 and complete the gap between Blood of the Rainbow and A Vested Interest.

The second book in the Blood of the Rainbow series is now available, 'Roses and Regret'. This one tells the early story of Donna and Jared. It's a paranormal romance and explains a little more of the series story. Shelia is writing a third follow-up, 'Choice and Change' to this which will appear in 2014 and complete the gap between Blood of the Rainbow and A Vested Interest.

HINT - somewhere in each book you will find a password. Using it will unlock the password protected pages on this website.